Bulahdelah is a friendly country town, set on the banks of the Myall River near its junction with the Crawford River. Bulahdelah, named from an Aboriginal word thought to mean “the meeting of the waters”. The town is situated 235 kilometers north of Sydney. The eastern sector of the township is built on the foot of the Alum Mountain. The Aboriginal people of the area were the Worimi people. They called their mountain “Boolah Dillah” (meaning: the Great Rock).
Logging was a traditional industry of Bulahdelah and today still contributes significantly to the economy of the town. Over the years several Catholic Churches have existed in this area.
St Brigid’s was built in Church St Bulahdelah in 1927. A small Church, St Mary’s, existed in the Village of Markwell. When first built these two Churches were serviced by a visiting priest from Krambach. In 1922 the Parish of Bulahdelah was formed.
A new St Mary’s Markwell was built at the Upper Myall in 1939. This Church was destroyed by fire in 1979 and was never rebuilt. Along the Lakes Way, at Mayers Flat, a Catholic Church was built about 1940. In the 1970’s this Church was closed and later sold. Further, during the 1960’s Mass was celebrated in the School of Arts Hall at Wootton one Sunday a month.
Today the St Brigid’s Mass Centre Community although small, is vibrant and committed. to the Parish Goals.